Skip to:

Sub-Councils : G-020

Policy/Guideline Area

General Guidelines

Applicable Divisions

TCATs, Community Colleges, System Office, Board Members


Pursuant to Board Policy No. 1:03:04:00, the Tennessee Board of Regents has authorized certain sub-councils to the Joint Presidents' Council for the purpose of providing a mechanism to promote effective communication and internal management throughout the Tennessee Board of Regents System. The Joint Presidents' Council recognizes the inherent value of the collective advice and comments of campus officials in designated areas on matters of System-wide concern, while preserving the organizational structures and systems of communication at the individual institutions and for the System as a whole. The Joint Presidents' Council further finds it necessary to establish the following guidelines and procedures to govern the operations of the various sub-councils in fulfilling their stated purposes.


  1. Names of Sub-Councils
    1. The names of the sub-councils to the Joint Presidents' Council which have been established are:
      1. The Academic Affairs Sub-Council;
      2. The Business Affairs Sub-Council;
      3. The Student Affairs Sub-Council;
      4. The Faculty Sub-Council;
      5. The Tennessee College of Applied Technology Presidents'; and
      6. The Information Technology Sub-Council.
  2. Nature of the Sub-Councils
    1. Each of the foregoing are sub-councils to the Joint Presidents' Council, in the nature of sub-committees to a principal committee.
    2. Communications from the sub-councils shall be made to the Joint Presidents' Council and the Board of Regents staff; no releases of information or public statements shall be made by the sub-councils.
  3. Membership of Sub-Councils
    1. The regular members of the Academic Affairs, Business Affairs, Student Affairs and Information Technology Sub-Councils shall be the chief administrative officers in the areas of academic, business, student affairs and Information Technology, respectively, at each institution in the System.
      1. It is recommended that the Faculty Sub-Council members be the chairman of the faculty senate, assembly or advisory committee established by each of the various institutions; however, a representative may be selected annually by the faculty organization to serve as a Faculty Sub-Council member.
      2. The president of each TCAT shall be a member of the TCAT Presidents’ Sub-Council.
    2. The Information Technology Sub-Council shall include representatives (one each) of the following functional areas supported by information technology:
      1. Academic Affairs;
      2. Business Affairs;
      3. Student Affairs;
      4. Faculty; and
      5. The Tennessee Colleges of Applied Technology.
        1. These appointments will be by the respective sub-council which serves these constituents.
        2. Appointees will serve a term of two years and may be re-appointed.
    3. In addition to the regular members of the respective sub-councils, the presidents of all institutions in the System and the member of the Board of Regents staff designated by the Chancellor shall be ex-officio (non-voting) members of each sub-council.
  4. Purpose and Functions of the Sub-Councils
    1. The purpose of the sub-councils shall be to improve communications and internal management in the respective areas of the sub-councils throughout the System, and to provide necessary information to the Joint Presidents' Council and the Board staff for their consideration in relation to the policy-making role of the Tennessee Board of Regents.
    2. The functions of the sub-councils shall be as follows:
      1. To consider matters and make reports as requested by the Joint Presidents' Council or the Board staff.
      2. To confer and discuss concerns within the jurisdiction of their respective areas for the purpose of promoting the improvement of their campus functions.
      3. To initiate projects and studies and report their findings to the Joint Presidents' Council and the Board staff.
    3. In exercising these functions, the respective sub-councils shall ensure against consideration of matters without their jurisdiction, or referred to or initiated by a different sub-council.
    4. All sub-councils shall limit their reports to their findings and conclusions concerning particular matters.
  5. Meetings of Sub-Councils
    1. Each sub-council shall hold a maximum of four regular meetings per year, to be held at such times and places which least conflict with the regular institutional responsibilities of the members.
      1. Special meetings of the sub-councils may be called by the Joint Presidents' Council or the Chancellor or designee.
      2. All members of the sub-councils are responsible for attendance at meetings, but there shall be no quorum required for any meeting.
    2. All regular and ex-officio members of each sub-council shall be invited to all meetings of the sub-council, and other persons shall not attend the meetings except by invitation from the sub-council chairman for a specific purpose.
  6. Officers of Sub-Councils
    1. Each sub-council shall select a chairman on an annual basis.
    2. The chairman shall be responsible for reports and communications between the sub-council and the Joint Presidents' Council and the Board staff.
    3. Additional officers may be selected by sub-councils as deemed necessary to carry out their purposes and functions.
  7. Internal Operation of Sub-Councils
    1. These guidelines and procedures shall constitute what would otherwise be the equivalent of bylaws for the respective sub-councils.
    2. Each sub-council may adopt additional procedures which are not inconsistent with the provisions herein set forth to govern the internal operations and the order of meetings of the sub-councils, subject to approval by the Joint Presidents' Council.



T.C.A. § 49-8-203


May 25, 1977 TBR presidents meeting. Revised September 30, 1977 Presidents meeting; July 1, 1984; Presidents’ Meeting February 13, 2002; Presidents’ Meeting August 16, 2005.

Related Policies